Edition Open Access

This website provides open access to the publications of the Max Planck Research Library for the History and Development of Knowledge, in accordance with the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to knowledge in the sciences and humanities, which was launched by the Max Planck Society in 2003. The aim is to disseminate peer-reviewed results of scholarly work to a broad audience rapidly and at low cost. The volumes presented are directed at scholars and students in a wide range of disciplines and are available online, as print-on-demand books and open-access publications.


Series Editors

Ian T. Baldwin
(Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Jena)
Jürgen Renn
(Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin)
Dagmar Schäfer
(Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin)
Robert Schlögl
(Fritz Haber Institute, Berlin)
Bernard F. Schutz
(Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, Golm)

Follow us!



Recent Publications


Proceedings 11

Culture and Cognition

Essays in Honor of Peter Damerow

Jürgen Renn, Matthias Schemmel (eds.)

Sources 10

Quantum Gravity in the First Half of the Twentieth Century

A Sourcebook

Alexander S. Blum, Dean Rickles (eds.)

Studies 10

Studies in Multilingualism, Lingua Franca and Lingua Sacra

Jens Braarvig, Markham J. Geller

Sources 9

Theory, Practice, and Nature In-between

Antonio Vallisneri’s Primi Itineris Specimen

Francesco Luzzini


Editorial Board

Prior to publication, all Edition Open Access volumes undergo a strict peer-reviewing process. Members of the editorial board not only monitor this process, but in addition suggest and supervise suitable publications for inclusion in Edition Open Access. Works that have not undergone a reviewing process will not be considered for Edition Open Access.

Markus Antonietti (Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Golm)
Antonio Becchi (London)
Fabio Bevilacqua (University of Pavia)
William G. Boltz (University of Washington, Seattle)
Jens Braarvig (Oslo University)
Horst Bredekamp (Humboldt University, Berlin)
Jed Z. Buchwald (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
Olivier Darrigol (CNRS, Paris)
Thomas Duve (Max Planck Institute for European Legal History, Frankfurt am Main)
Mike Edmunds (Cardiff University)
Yehuda Elkana† (Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin)
Fynn Ole Engler (University of Rostock)
Robert K. Englund (University of California, Los Angeles)
Mordechai Feingold (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
Rivka Feldhay (Tel-Aviv University)

Gideon Freudenthal (Tel-Aviv University)
Paolo Galluzzi (Istituto e Museo di Storia della Scienza, Florence)
Kostas Gavroglu (University of Athens)
Mark Geller (Freie Universität Berlin)
Domenico Giulini (University of Hannover)
Günther Görz (University of Erlangen)
Gerd Graßhoff (Humboldt University, Berlin)
James Hough (University of Glasgow)
Manfred Laubichler (Arizona State University, Tempe)
Glenn Most (University of Chicago)
Klaus Müllen (Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz)
Pier Daniele Napolitani (University of Pisa)
Alessandro Nova (Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz)
Hermann Parzinger (The Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation, Berlin)
Dan T. Potts (Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York)
Mark Schiefsky (Harvard University)

Sabine Schmidtke (Freie Universität Berlin)
Circe Silva da Silva (Federal University of Espírito Santo, Vitoria)
Ana Simões (University of Lisbon)
Dieter Stein (University of Düsseldorf)
Richard Stephenson (Durham University)
Mark Stitt (Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology, Potsdam)
Noel M. Swerdlow (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena)
Liba Taub (University of Cambridge)
Martin Vingron (Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin)
Scott Walter (University of Nancy)
Norton Wise (University of California, Los Angeles)
Gerhard Wolf (Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz)
Rüdiger Wolfrum (Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg)
Gereon Wolters (University of Konstanz)
Zhang Baichun (Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing)