List of Contributors

 

Daniel C. Andersson 

Research Fellow in History 

Wolfson College, University of Oxford 

Ecole Normale Superieure, Lyon 

daniel.andersson@wolfson.ox.ac.uk 

Florentina Badalanova Geller 

Professor at the Excellence Cluster Topoi and the Seminar für Katholische Theologie 

Head of the Slavonic Database of the Royal Anthropological Institute, London 

Freie Universität Berlin 

fgeller@zedat.fu-berlin.de 

William G. Boltz 

Professor of Classical Chinese 

University of Washington, Seattle 

boltzwm@u.washington.edu 

Jens Braarvig 

Professor of Religious Studies 

The Norwegian Institute of Philology 

Department of Cultural Studies and Oriental Languages 

University of Oslo 

j.e.braarvig@ikos.uio.no 

Kathrin Chlench-Priber 

Germanistische Mediävistik 

Universität Bern 

kathrin.chlench@germ.unibe.ch 

Desmond Durkin-Meisterernst 

Research Fellow 

Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften 

durkin-meisterernst@bbaw.de 

Lutz Edzard 

Chair for Arabic Studies and Semitics 

Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg 

lutz.edzard@fau.de 

Adjunct Professor of Semitics, 

University of Oslo 

l.e.edzard@ikos.uio.no 

Kurt Gärtner 

Emeritus Professor of German Philology 

Universität Trier 

gaertnekstaff.uni-marburg.de 

Markham J. Geller 

Professor für Wissensgeschichte at the Excellence Cluster Topoi 

Freie Universität Berlin 

Jewish Chronicle Professor 

University College London 

mark.geller@fu-berlin.de 

Alexandra von Lieven 

Seminar for Egyptology 

Extracurricular Professor for Egyptology 

Freie Universität Berlin 

alexandra.von.lieven@fu-berlin.de 

Lars Kirkhusmo Pharo 

Moses Mesoamerican Archive and Research Project 

Harvard University 

Nord University 

Norway 

Velizar Sadovski 

Associated Professor for Indo-European Studies 

Institute of Iranian Studies 

Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften 

Velizar.Sadovski@oeaw.ac.at 

Reinier Salverda 

Professor of Dutch Language and Literature 

University College London 

Honorary Professor 

Fryske Akademy, Leeuwarden, Netherlands 

rsalverda@fryske-akademy.nl 

Jan Tavernier 

Université catholique de Louvain 

Centre d'études orientales/Institut orientaliste de Louvain 

Jan.Tavernier@uclouvain.be 

Vladimir Tikhonov 

Professor of Korean and East Asian Studies 

Department of Culture Studies and Oriental Languages 

University of Oslo 

vladimir.tikhonov@ikos.uio.no 

Klaus Wagensonner 

Research Fellow 

Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations 

Yale Babylonian Collection 

Yale University 

klaus.wagensonner@yale.edu 

 

Studies in Multilingualism, Lingua Franca and Lingua Sacra

Table of Contents

List of Contributors

Preface
Markham J. Geller, Jens Braarvig

Introduction
Markham J. Geller, Jens Braarvig

Part I: General Reflections

1 Empires and their Languages: Reflections on the History and the Linguistics of Lingua Franca and Lingua Sacra
Reinier Salverda

2 Dependent Languages
Jens Braarvig

Part II: Europe

3 Lehnübersetzung und Lehnbedeutung vs. Lehnwort: Zu den Entlehnungen aus dem Lateinischen und Französischen in das mittelalterliche Deutsch
Kurt Gärtner

4 Konrad of Megenberg: German Terminologies and Expressions as Created on Latin Models
Kathrin Chlench-Priber

5 What Language Does God Speak?
Florentina Badalanova Geller

6 Islamic Mystical Poetry and Alevi Rhapsodes From the Village of Sevar, Bulgaria
Florentina Badalanova Geller

7 Learning Arabic and Learned Bilingualism in Early Modern England: The Case of John Pell
Daniel Andersson

Part III: Ancient Near East

8 Sumerian in the Middle Assyrian Period
Klaus Wagensonner

9 The Concept of the Semitic Root in Akkadian Lexicography
Markham J. Geller

10 Multilingualism in the Elamite Kingdoms and the Achaemenid Empire
Jan Tavernier

11 Diplomatic Multilingualism in the Middle East, Past and Present: Multilingualism, Linguae Francae and the Global History of Religious and Scientific Concepts
Lutz Edzard

12 Some Observations on Multilingualism in Graeco-Roman Egypt
Alexandra von Lieven

Part IV: India and Central Asia

13 Indo-Iranian Sacred Texts and Sacrificial Practices: Structures of Common Heritage (Speech and Performance in the Veda and Avesta, III)
Velizar Sadovski

14 Aspects of Multilingualism in Turfan as Seen in Manichaean Texts
Desmond Durkin-Meisterernst

Part V: China

15 Multilingualism and Lingua Franca in the Ancient Chinese World
William G. Boltz

16 The Imprint of Buddhist Sanskrit on Chinese and Tibetan: Some Lexical Ontologies and Translation Strategies in the Tang Dynasty
Jens Braarvig

17 Classical Chinese as Lingua Franca in East Asia in the First to Second Millennia CE: Focusing on the Linguistic Situation in Traditional Korea
Vladimir Tikhonov

Part VI: The Americas

18 Multilingualism and Lingua Francae of Indigenous Civilizations of America
Lars Kirkhusmo Pharo


This publication is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-Share Alike 3.0 Germany (cc by-nc-sa 3.0) Licence.